procrastination 101

21 Oct

 

from someecards.com

aahh, the art of procrastinating . . .

 

1 month and 8 days. that’s how long it’s been since i last posted anything. that is really, really bad for someone who’s been pushing herself to making this a part of her “flexing my creative muscles and wanting to hone my writing skills” experiment. oh, the desire and hankering to twiddle on my blog is there, all right. but i can never seem to summon up the energy to type out the endless stream of thoughts in my head.

in fact,  just the thought of it now makes me tired.

that’s why i really am envious of friends who commit to posting on their blogs on a regular basis, if not every day. where they find the time to do so is beyond me. if my attempts to blog every day were ever put to film, it would be an endless loop of this scenario: me getting home, plonking on my bed, turning on my laptop (and getting a few minutes of shut-eye while it loads). transition to next scene of me logging into my blog while simultaneously reading the news online and surfing the Web while my blog loads. fast forward 2 hours later—and i’m on some random website reading an article that caught my fancy, the tab where my blog was loading remaining untouched. and surprise of surprises, by this time, i am drained and ready for bed. scene fades out, and i do the same thing all over again the next day.

the really sad thing about it is, i know i can do something about it. i just refuse to. *sigh* but hey, today’s a new day. and in a bit, i’ll be hitting that Publish button. fingers crossed, i’ll be at it again soon enough (though i am planning to make up for the 1-month hiatus with a couple more posts today :D)

happy sunday!

4 Responses to “procrastination 101”

  1. ericjbaker October 21, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    Ironic, isn’t it, how the internet distracts us from blogging…

    • rubyr3dstil8ttos October 21, 2012 at 5:22 am #

      I agree. To think that the Internet is the very platform that has brought about this new form of communication.Then again, I think it also has a lot to do with people’s attention span (mine, case in point) and the wealth of information online that can so easily divert our attention.

  2. whimsicalsouls October 21, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    It often happens with me too. I too wonder how some of them manage to post daily or weekly. Loved that card, hehehe..

    • rubyr3dstil8ttos October 21, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      i know. what with family, work, and life in general—when does one make the time? sometimes i think it’s really just about making time. when you’re passionate about something, your schedule seems to magically work itself out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

